Skip to main content

Prize Winners 2023

The 2023 ACTERIA Doctoral Prizes awarded by EFIS in Immunology and Allergology to two outstanding young investigators

The ACTERIA Prizes awarded by EFIS were established in 2012 to recognize and reward Europe’s young talents in the fields of immunology and allergology. Since 2020, Prizes have been awarded every year. In 2023, two ACTERIA Doctoral Prizes for the best PhD dissertations defended in the last 3 years, are awarded. These Prizes carry cash awards plus the potential funding of three-year research projects to be performed in European institutions. Next year in 2023, two ACTERIA Early Career Research Prizes will be awarded to young scientists who are on the track to play a leading role in immunology and allergology in Europe in years to come.

The winners of the 2023 ACTERIA Prizes awarded by EFIS are:

Acteria Prize 2023 >>

Candidates were carefully evaluated and the winners selected by a prestigious jury of eminent scientists in the field. The Jury was chaired by Prof. Catherine Sautès-Fridman, Cordeliers Research Center, Paris (FR), Past President of EFIS, and recipient of the Behring Metchnikoff Prize and the Prix Petit d’Ormoy from the French Academy of Sciences. Prof. Sautès-Fridman's fellow jury members were:

  • Alberto Mantovani, President, Fondatione Humanitas per la Ricerca Past-President of the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS), recipient of the 2016 Robert Koch Award, 2016 Organization of European Cancer Institute Prize, EMBO member
  • Federica Sallusto, Professor at ETH, Zürich and Group leader in Cellular Immunology, Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Bellinzona (CH), President of EFIS, recipient of the 1999 Pharmacia Foundation Award, the 2009 Behring Lecture Prize, the 2010 Award of the Foundation for Study of Neurodegenerative Diseases, EMBO member and German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina member.
  • Fiona Powrie, FRS, FMedSci, Director of the Kennedy Institute, Principal Investigator in the translational Gastroenterology Unit, University of Oxford (UK), recipient of the 2009 EFIS-EJI “Ita Askonas” Prize, of the 2012 Louis-Jeantet Prize for medicine, International fellow of the National Academy of Science, Wellcome Trust Board of Governor Deputy Chair, EMBO member.
  • Jacques Neefjes, Head of the Cell and Chemical Biology Department at the Leiden University Medical Center (NL), recipient of the NWO Spinoza Prize 2020, Royal Dutch Chemical Society member, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Science member, EMBO member,
  • Mala Maini, FRCP FMedSci, Professor of Viral Immunology, University College London (UK), Deputy Head of the Department of Immunology.

Fondation ACTERIA - Acting on European Research in Immunology and Allergology) promotes noncommercial fundamental research in immunology and allergology in Europe and Switzerland. It participates in the exchange of research and knowhow exchange between Switzerland and Europe by awarding the ACTERIA Prizes and by supporting postdoctoral research by early career researchers in Europe without distinction to country, nationality, race, religion, gender or any other grounds for discrimination.

EFIS - the European Federation of Immunological Societies is an umbrella organization that represents more than 14,000 individual members from 35 European member societies, and reaches beyond European boundaries to include Israel. The main goals of EFIS are to support immunological research and education, as well as to strengthen scientific interaction amongst its members. EFIS focuses particularly on supporting young scientists, e.g., through fellowships, travel grants and awards.


To learn more please contact  Tom Wiley (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Zurich, Switzerland, June, 2023