Skip to main content

Prize Winners 2021

The 2021 ACTERIA Doctoral Prizes awarded by EFIS in Immunology and Allergology to two outstanding early career scientists

The ACTERIA Prizes awarded by EFIS were established in 2012 to recognize and reward Europe’s young talents in the fields of immunology and allergology. Since 2020, Prizes have been awarded every year. In 2021, two ACTERIA Early Career Research Prizes, for outstanding young investigators with up to 10 years postdoctoral experience, are awarded. These Prizes carry cash awards and funding awards of three-year research projects to be performed in European institutions. They are awarded to young scientists who are on the track to play a leading role in immunology and allergology in Europe in years to come. Next year in 2022, two ACTERIA Doctoral Thesis Prizes, for the best PhD dissertations defended in the last 3 years, will be awarded.

The winners of the 2021 ACTERIA Prizes awarded by EFIS are:

Acteria Prize 2021 >>

The ACTERIA Prizes will be awarded at a special ceremony of the European Congress of Immunology, September 2, 2021 at 5:30 PM, during which the laureates will present their work.

Candidates were carefully evaluated and the winners selected by a prestigious jury of eminent scientists in the field. The Jury was chaired by Prof. Catherine Sautès-Fridman, Cordeliers Research Center, Paris (FR), Past President of EFIS, and recipient of the Behring Metchnikoff Prize and the Prix Petit d’Ormoy from the French Academy of Sciences. Prof. Sautès-Fridman's fellow jury members were:

  • Alberto Mantovani, President of the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS), vice-Rector for research at Humanitas University, President, Fondatione Humanitas per la Ricerca, EMBO member, recipient of the 2016 Robert Koch Award, 2016 Organization of European Cancer Institute Prize
  • Stefan H.E. Kaufmann, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin, Germany, EMBO member, recipient of the Aronson Prize, German Society for Hygiene and Microbiology Prize
  • Fiona Powrie, FRS, FMedSci, Head of the Experimental Medicine Division at the John Radcliffe Hospital, University of Oxford (UK), EMBO member, recipient of the 2009 EFIS-EJI “Ita Askonas” Prize for outstanding women immunologists and of the 2012 Louis-Jeantet Prize for medicine
  • Jacques Neefjes, Head of the Cell and Chemical Biology Department at the Leiden University Medical Center (NL), recipient of the NWO Spinoza Prize 2020, EMBO member, Royal Dutch Chemical Society member, Royal netherlands Academy of Arts and Science member
  • Mala Maini, FRCP FMedSci, University College London (UK), Deputy Head of the Department of Immunology.

About the Fondation ACTERIA and EFIS

The Fondation ACTERIA - Acting on European Research in Immunology and Allergology) promotes noncommercial fundamental research in immunology and allergology in Europe and Switzerland. It participates in the exchange of research and knowhow exchange between Switzerland and Europe by awarding the ACTERIA Prizes and by supporting postdoctoral research by early career researchers in Europe without distinction to country, nationality, race, religion, gender or any other grounds for discrimination.

EFIS - the European Federation of Immunological Societies is an umbrella organization that represents more than 14,000 individual members from 35 European member societies, and reaches beyond European boundaries to include Israel. The main goals of EFIS are to support immunological research and education, as well as to strengthen scientific interaction amongst its members. EFIS focuses particularly on supporting young scientists, e.g., through fellowships, travel grants and awards.